Simpson, Newgarden, McLauglin, Farano form star-studded LMP2 line-up for 2023 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

Tower Motorsports has confirmed a star-studded driver lineup for the upcoming Rolex 24 At Daytona. The reigning LMP2 championship winners will be entering a new era as the team is set to welcome INDYCAR SERIES drivers Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin, in addition to new up-and-coming sensation Kyffin Simpson. They will be joining 2022 LMP2 Champion John Farano for the Roar Before the 24 and the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Young rising star Kyffin Simpson is no stranger to the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship field, having participated in multiple events in a GT3 machine and winning the famed Petit Le Mans race in 2022. The Chip Ganassi Racing protégé is eager to get back on track;

“I’m proud to join Tower Motorsports in the LMP2 class at the 24 Hours of Daytona. I’m thankful for John Farano’s support and am counting down the days to join him, Josef, Scott and the entire team. We’re looking forward to putting our best foot forward with our eyes set on victory lane.”

Two-time INDYCAR SERIES Champion Josef Newgarden will be joining Tower Motorsports at the 24 Hours of Daytona. It will be his first time competing during this event at the famed World Center of Racing.

“This is definitely an event that was on my bucket list, along with the 24 Hours of Le Mans, so I am beyond grateful for this opportunity. We’re a group of very competitive people, and we all want to win,” said Newgarden. “I think this is a very exciting challenge and I believe this team can accomplish great things together. I have a close relationship with Scott (McLaughlin) as well and I couldn’t be happier to be doing this with him as teammates.”

Scott McLaughlin, three-time Australian Supercars champion and INDYCAR SERIES race winner with Team Penske, echoed Newgarden’s thoughts;

“I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to race with this amazing group of drivers. This is a stellar lineup and a perfect chance to show what we can do together. This is a proven crew that clearly knows how to win races, and that’s exactly what we’re setting out to accomplish at Daytona.”

Completing the driver line-up of this top-level program is 2022 LMP2 Champion John Farano;

“Following last year’s successful season, we know we have the potential to challenge for a win at Daytona. There’s nothing we want more than to expand on our strengths and pick up some more hardware when we cross that finish line. I’m elated to partner with Josef and Scott, who are seasoned pros and will undoubtedly bring that added spark and determination to the Team. I am equally excited to welcome the very talented Kyffin Simpson to our Team and looking forward to sharing our car with him for all the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup races”.

The Canadian driver claimed third place at last year’s edition of the 24 Hours of Daytona, then went on to win at Laguna Seca shortly after. He clinched a pair of second-place finishes at Watkins Glen and Road America before finishing on a high note during the Motul Petit Le Mans, nabbing both the win and the championship.

“We couldn’t have asked for a better 2022 season, and I’m confident that we will be able to add to our winning tally with the incredible driver lineup we have this year.” stated Rick Capone, Capone Motorsports owner and Tower Motorsports Team Manager. “I am beyond proud of what we have accomplished as a team, and I can’t wait to see what 2023 has in store for us.”

Fans can follow live coverage of the 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona on NBC and Peacock over the January 26-29 weekend, the IMSA website, and can support Kyffin on social media via FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

Kyffin is a Chip Ganassi Racing development driver supported by Ridgeline Lubricants, InvestCayman, Visit Cayman Islands, Boddens Legal, Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa Grand Cayman, Simpson Race Products and Kokoro Media.

Back to News


For more information about Kyffin Simpson, media or partnership enquiries, please contact us via the details below.

General & Partnership Enquiries